Archive for April, 2007

History Professor named as President of Civil War Roundtable

Friday, April 20th, 2007

Dr. Henry O. Robertson, Associate Professor of History at Louisiana College, was elected President of the Red River Civil War Roundtable for the 2007-08 year. The Civil War Roundtable meets in Alexandria at Sammy’s Steakhouse on McArthur Drive the first Thursday of the month, September through May. The next meeting will be an end of the year banquet at Kent Plantation House. For more information contact the current Civil War Roundtable president, Charles Neal at

Two Louisiana College Professors receive grant from the Louisiana Board of Regents

Friday, April 20th, 2007

Dr. Wade Warren, associate professor of Biology and Assistant Dean of the College and coordinator for the department of Biology and Dr. Mike Brunet, Assistant Professor and Program Director of the Athletic Training Education Program, wrote a grant to the Louisiana Board of Regents during the 2006 fall semester. The grant was awarded in the amount of $69,000, which will be given this year. The money will be used for program enhancements in the Athletic Training Educational program and to add a new human cadaver laboratory.

Louisiana College Announces Students named in 2007 list of Who’s Who

Friday, April 20th, 2007

Tara Andrews, Benton, LA.
Ethan Boothe, Harrisonburg, LA.
Mallorie Broussard, Alexandria, LA.
Britton Carroll, Dry Prong, LA.
Nicole Charlie, Ville Platte, LA.
Adam Guillory, Dry Prong, LA.
Alyse Hutchinson, Pineville, LA.
Anna Hutto, Minden, LA.
Meagan James, Winnfield, LA.
Warren Kimball, Baker, LA.
Amanda LaCroix, Pollock, LA.
Kirk Langheinz, Baton Rouge, LA.
Jay Miller, LA.
Elvis Njere, Pineville, LA.
Sarah Ortego, Pineville, LA.
Carla Ramey, Nacogdoches, TX.
Dustin Royer, DeQuincey, LA.
David Sawyer, Pineville, LA.
Samantha Schaffer, Pineville, LA.
James Smithey, Rockport, TX.
Michael Steinmetz, Shreveport, LA.
Lindsay Terrell, Karnack, TX.
Joy Thomason, Alexandria, LA.
Ryan Tubre, West Monroe, LA.
Roger Whitlock, West Monroe, LA.
Reba Clemons, Pineville, LA.
Haylie Treas, Sulpher, LA.

Louisiana College Awards Day Recipients

Friday, April 20th, 2007

Louisiana College 2007 Awards Day was held on Thursday, April 19, 2007 at Guinn Auditorium. The Awards given were in recognition of achievements by students and student organizations for their leadership, and service to the Louisiana College Campus.

Outstanding SGA officer – Dustin Royer
Outstanding SGA member – Stephanie Mabou

Outstanding Union Board officer – Danica Reaves
Outstanding Union Board member – Alana Pate

Social Work Club member of the year – Mary Dossey

The 2007 President’s Trophy was presented to the International Student Organization
Each year a trophy is presented to the student organization that has participated in campus events and support LC activities.

The student choice for the 2006 – 2007 Teacher of the Year Award – Dr. Donald Shipley

SNA Car Wash Friday April 20

Thursday, April 19th, 2007

LC Student Nurses Association will hold a car wash this Friday, April 20th from 1 – 5 p.m. in the parking lot of the Louisiana Athletic Club. Donations only.