2010 NATS Winners Announced

March 29th, 2010

Pineville, LA… Louisiana College Department of Music announces the winners of the   Louisiana Chapter of NATS (National Association of Teachers of Singing) that was recently hosted on the LC campus. The competition was held on Saturday, March 13 in the Weathersby Fine Arts


Building and Guinn Auditorium. Twenty-eight voice teachers from around the state participated with their students in the event which culminated with an award luncheon in the Granberry Conference Center which was hosted by Dr. Loryn Frey.   


Dr. Michele Martin, from McNeese State University, was the Auditions Chair, assisted by co-chair, Chris Gilliam, from Northwestern State University.


Ms Mei-En Chou, artist-in-residence at Louisiana College, accompanied LC students, as well as those from McNeese, on piano.


Winning students from LC included:  Kameryn Lueng – 1st place in Junior Women; John Simmons – 1st place in  Sophomore Men; Juliana Wimberly-Handy—4th place Sophomore Women;  Andy Jordan—4th place Sophomore


Click here for a complete list of Louisiana Chapter Audition Winners