LC to Host NCAA Division III Softball Regional

May 11th, 2010


PINEVILLE - For the first time in three years, Louisiana College will play host to an NCAA Division III Softball Regional. A trip to the Division III World Series will be on the line starting Friday at noon when Louisiana College, currently ranked No. 1 in the nation, plays host to five other teams in a three-day tournament. Admission will be $5 for general admission and $12 for seat backs, daily. No three-day passes will be issued. All LC games will be carried live on KZLC Louisiana College’s radio station 95.5 FM. Also, the LC athletics web site will feature a tournament central page where fans can get live updates throughout the tournament.

LC should have little trouble recognizing its opponents in this year’s regional as three of the five visiting teams in the six-team regional hail not only from the Lady Wildcats’ home conference, the American Southwest Conference, but also from Louisiana College’s home Division. Fellow ASC East teams Texas-Tyler (the nation’s No. 2 team), East Texas Baptist (No. 10) and Mississippi College will vie for a berth in the World Series in Eu Claire, Wisc., alongside Southwestern (Texas) and La Verne (California).

The three-day tournament will begin at noon on Friday with the host team taking on La Verne in game one. Texas-Tyler and Southwestern will follow at 2 p.m. in game two and Mississippi College and East Texas Baptist at 4 p.m. in game three.

The losers of games one and two will square off in an elimination game at 6 p.m. in the fourth and final game of the first day. Day two will start at noon with the LC-La Verne winner taking on the loser of the Mississippi College-East Texas Baptist game. The winners of the Texas-Tyler-Southwestern and MC-ETBU games will play at 2 p.m. with the remainder of the weekend’s schedule being dependant upon the outcomes of the first six games.

The potential tournament schedule is as follows (game times TBA unless otherwise noted):

Game 1: Louisiana College vs. La Verne (noon)
Game 2: Texas-Tyler vs. Southwestern (2 p.m.)
Game 3: Mississippi College vs. East Texas Baptist (4 p.m.)
Game 4: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2 (6 p.m.)

Game 5: Winner Game 1 vs. Loser Game 3 (noon)
Game 6: Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 3 (2 p.m.)

Late Saturday and Sunday (Game Times and Participants TBA)

If four teams remain after Game 6
Game 7: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6
Game 8: Winner Game 4 vs. Loser Game 6
Game 9: Loser game 7 vs. Winner Game 8
Game 10: Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 9
Game 11: Same teams as Game 10

If five teams remain after Game 6
Game 7: Loser Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6
Game 8: Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5
Game 9: Winner Game 6 vs. Winner Game 7

If two teams remain after Game 9
Game 10: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9
Game 11: Same teams as Game 10

If three teams remain after Game 9
Game 10: Winner Game 8 vs. Loser Game 9
Game 11: Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 10