LC Holds 50th Honors Convocation

April 29th, 2011

Pineville, LA…Louisiana College held its 50th Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 28th in Guinn Auditorium.  In additional to honor students (GPA of 3.7 or above) being recognized, each department handed out various awards to their highest achieving students, including many scholarship awards.

In addition to the numerous student awards, two professors were awarded Chairs: Dr. Kimberly Sharp was awarded the Coughlin-Saunders Chair in Nursing and Dr. Cheryl Clark was awarded the Olive Ann Rau Chair in English.

Also awarded were several Professorships in the following areas:

Dr. Gilbert Jones, BellSouth Professorship (Liberal Arts); Dr. Henry Robertson, Richard L. Crowell Professorship (Pre-law); Dr. Argile Smith, Lyndon E. Dawson Professorship (Religion); Ms. Sheri Duffy, Erroll Dawson, Jr. Distinguished Professorship (Social Work); Dr. Michael Shepherd, John & Allie Fogleman Professorship (Religion); Dr. Arthur Mazhambe, W. Ray Frye Professorship (Business); Dr. Keith Callis, J.E. Hixson, Sr. Professorship (English); Mr. David Culp, Hubert & Madolene Reding Professorship (Business); Dr. Steve Cowan, Jim Young Professorship (Religion); Dr. David Simmons, Carolyn Adams Dawson Professorship (Mathematics).

Additionally, Dr. Wade Warren was named as “2010-2011 Professor of the Year”, an honor that is voted on by the student body. Dr. Warren is Holder of the C.J. Cavanaugh Chair in Biology, Biology Department Coordinator, Professor of Biology and Assistant Dean